MINUTES OF THE PENSION COMMITTEE

Date: Thursday 25th May 2017

Time: 9:30-9:40

Place: Kreis Viersen Room, Shire Hall, Cambridge

Committee Members

present: County Councillors Boden (substituting for Councillor Hay), Downes, Hickford

(Chairman), Rogers (Vice Chairman), Schumann and Shellens; J Walker (UNISON,

representing deferred and retired LGPS members)

Officers: D Cave, S Heywood, R Perry, P Tysoe and M Whitby

Apologies: Councillors A Fraser, A Hay and D Seaton; M Pink

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN

Having been duly moved and seconded, it was unanimously resolved to appoint Councillor Hickford as the Chairman of the Pension Committee.

Having been duly moved and seconded, it was unanimously resolved to appoint Councillor Rogers as the Vice Chairman of the Pension Committee.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

John Walker declared a personal interest as a retired member of the LGPS, his son was a deferred member, and his daughter-in-law was an active member.

Councillor Downes declared a personal interest as a retired member of the Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS).

3. MINUTES OF THE PENSION FUND BOARD MEETING HELD ON 23rd MARCH 2017

The minutes of the Pension Fund Board meeting held on 23rd March 2017 were approved as a correct record and were signed by the Chairman.

4. APPOINTMENT OF PENSION FUND INVESTMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (ISC)

Having noted that as set out in the County Council Constitution the Chairman and the Vice Chairman of the Committee (Councillors Hickford and Rogers) automatically became the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Investment Sub-Committee, the following appointments were agreed as set out below from those relevant to take part in the approval process.

<u>Cambridgeshire County Council (CCC) Members – four</u>

The following four Councillors listed below had been proposed by Full Council taking into account political proportionality but required the approval by the Committee.

Automatically appointed as a result of their appointment as Chairman and Vice-Chairman:

Chairman Councillor Roger Hickford (Conservative) Vice Chairman: Councillor Terry Rogers (Conservative)

It was resolved to confirm the following two County Councillors as the other two appointments to the Pension Fund Investment Sub-Committee

Councillor Peter Downes (Liberal Democrat) Councillor Mike Shellens (Liberal Democrat)

All other employers - two

Two places were required to be drawn from the two Committee member places representing 'all other local authorities, police and fire' and the one Committee member place representing 'all other employers'.

Peterborough City Council had confirmed that Councillor Seaton was still their appointee representing one of the 'all other local authorities, police and fire' places. The other appointment remained as a vacancy.

The Committee resolved to endorse this appointment:

Councillor David Seaton

Scheme member representative - one

This appointment was required to be drawn from either the one Committee member representing Active Scheme Members or the one Committee member representing deferred and pensioner scheme members. Unison (both Branch and Regional Office) had confirmed Mr Walker's reappointment.

It was resolved to endorse this appointment:

John Walker

5. DATE OF NEXT MEETING 10am 29th June