CAMBRIDGE CITY JOINT AREA COMMITTEE: MINUTES

Date: Tuesday 26th July 2016

Time: 4.40pm – 5.10pm

Present: County Councillors Cearns, Kavanagh, Manning, Scutt (Chairwoman) and

Walsh;

City Councillors Adey, Blencowe (Vice-Chairman), Robertson and Tunnacliffe.

Apologies: County Councillor A Taylor; City Councillors Baigent and Bird

40. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

41. MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD 7th JUNE 2016

The minutes of the meeting held on 7th June 2016 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairwoman, subject to amending the second sentence of Minute 32 to read 'Councillor Cearns proposed Councillor Manning as Chairman, Councillor Taylor seconded.'

Following up on the action in response to Ms Cranmer's question to the Committee at the last meeting (that officers investigate the issues she had raised and inform her of their findings, and circulate the response to members), the Committee noted that the response had been sent and circulated. It was reported that the questioner remained unhappy and was referring the matter to the external auditor; members took the view that the action from the last meeting had been completed and required no further follow-up by the Committee.

42. PETITIONS

None.

43. PARKING POLICY REVIEW

The Committee received a report that updated Members on the progress of the Member Working Group for the resident parking policy review for Cambridge City. The group was examining options for on-street parking in Cambridge. It had already met twice, with its next meeting planned for 9 August 2016 (not 6 August as stated in the report).

In the course of discussion, members

 enquired whether residents' associations had been contacted in writing to seek their views on parking schemes that were only operational for 1 - 2 hours in a day.

It was agreed that an email be sent to Cambridge residents' associations asking for their views on such schemes

Action required

 raised the question of whether, if an area was being consulted on a scheme, neighbouring areas should be included in the consultation at the same time. The view was expressed on the one hand that a consultation should be confined to the immediate area. On the other hand, it was said that neighbouring areas should be included, because of the possibility that parking would be at least partially displaced from one area to another. The working group was asked to consider the inclusion of neighbouring areas in consultations.

It was pointed out that the parking policy review was moving into new territory, considering ideas that went beyond conventional parking schemes. City Deal proposals for virtual bollards at peak hours could well cause different transport choices and travel patterns to emerge

 considered the timetable for the parking policy review. It was noted that the current plan was to present the working group's findings to the Joint Area Committee on 25 October, then to the County's Highways and Community Infrastructure Committee on 8 November 2016.

It was suggested that the working group test its draft policy with the residents' associations it had already been in contact with; this would give some indication of whether the proposals had any support. To do this, it would be necessary for the working group to develop its proposals well in advance of the October Committee meeting, to allow the group time both to consult the residents' associations and to evaluate the responses.

It was resolved to note the progress of the Member Working Group.

44. LOCAL HIGHWAY IMPROVEMENT SCHEME – MEMBERSHIP OF PANEL

The Committee received a report inviting it to review the membership of the Local Highway Improvement Scheme (LHIS) panel. Members noted that three previous members of the panel were no longer members of the Committee.

It was resolved to make the following appointments of City Councillors to the member panel to prioritise Local Highway Improvement Scheme applications:

- a) Councillor Baigent to replace Councillor Smith as panel member
- b) Councillor Tunnacliffe to replace Councillor C Smart as panel member
- c) Councillor Adey to replace Councillor Tunnacliffe as alternate
- d) Councillor Robertson to replace Councillor Ratcliffe as alternate.

Chairwoman