

Overview of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Fire Authority

The Fire Authority is the governing body responsible for delivering a fire and rescue service to the residents of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough.

It was established in 1998 when Peterborough City became a unitary authority. In some counties, the delivery of the fire and rescue service is the responsibility of the county council, or a Police and Fire Commissioner. However, in counties such as Cambridgeshire where unitary authorities exist, a separate Fire Authority is set up to run the fire service and this is made up of Councillors from both the county council and unitary councils.

The Authority has overall control over the strategic direction, establishment, budget and functions of a fire and rescue service and over the purchase, sale and alteration of premises and appliances.

Chief Fire Officer

The Chief Fire Officer/Chief Executive is responsible for the day-to-day management of the organisation and is accountable to the Fire Authority for its efficient operation.

The Chief Fire Officer, together with the Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Assistant Chief Fire Officer form the Chief Officer Group who are the Authority's strategic leadership team.

Statutory Officers

There are also two Statutory Officers, who report direct to the Authority and provide assurance as to the lawfulness of decisions, and financial robustness of the Authority's budget.

The Monitoring Officer is appointed under section 5 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Treasurer to the Authority (Treasurer) who is the Chief Finance Officer, is appointed under section 112 of the Local Government Finance Act 1988.

The make-up of the Fire Authority

Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Fire Authority has seventeen elected Members, all of whom are serving Councillors. There are thirteen Members appointed by Cambridgeshire County Council and four Members from Peterborough City Council, reflecting the proportion of tax payers in each of the two council areas.

The political make-up of the Fire Authority reflects the number of Members from the political parties on each of the appointing county and unitary authorities. A Chair and Vice-Chair are elected annually.

The Members of the Fire Authority are:



Edna Murphy

Council: Cambridgeshire County Council

Party: Liberal Democrats

District: South Cambs



Andrew Bond

Council: Peterborough City
Council

Party: Liberal Democrats

District: Peterborough



Simon Bywater

Council: Cambridgeshire
County Council

Party: Conservative

District: Huntingdonshire



Hilary Cox Condron

Council: Cambridgeshire
County Council

Party: Labour

District: Cambridge



lan Gardener

Council: Cambridgeshire County
Council

Party: Conservative

District: Huntingdonshire



Bryony Goodliffe

Council: Cambridgeshire County
Council

Party: Labour

District: Cambridge



John Gowing

Council: Cambridgeshire
County Council

Party: Conservative

District: Fenland



Mohammed Jamil

council: Peterborough City

Council

Party: Labour

District: Peterborough



Sebastian Kindersley
Council: Cambridgeshire County
Council
Party: Liberal Democrats

District: South Cambs



Philippa Slatter

Council: Cambridgeshire County

Council

Party: Liberal Democrats

District: Cambridge



Mandy Smith

Council: Cambridgeshire
County Council

Party: Conservative

District: South Cambs



Simone Taylor

Council: Cambridgeshire

County Council

Party: Independent

District: Huntingdonshire



Scott Warren

Council: Peterborough City
Council

Party: Conservative

District: Peterborough



Peter McDonald

Council: Cambridgeshire County
Council

Party: Liberal Democrats

District: South Cambs



Mac McGuire

Council: Cambridgeshire County Council

Party: Conservative

District: Huntingdonshire



David Over

Council: Peterborough City Council

Party: Conservative

District: Peterborough



Kevin Reynolds

County: Cambridgeshire County Council

Party: Conservative

District: Huntingdonshire

Responsibilities of the Fire Authority

The main responsibilities of the Fire Authority are set out in the Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004 and include;

- promoting fire safety,
- protecting life and property from fires,
- rescuing people from road traffic collisions.

The Authority has statutory responsibility for the functions set out in;

- Fire and Rescue Services Act 2004,
- Civil Contingencies Act 2004,
- Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005,
- Policing and Crime Act 2017,
- The Government's blueprint of priorities and objectives for fire and rescue services as set out in its document the 'Fire and Rescue National Framework for England' also influences the Authority's work.

The Fire Authority makes decisions about how the local fire and rescue service operates and reviews performance and policies. It also sets the budget each year and decides the corporate priorities.