PUBLIC MINUTES OF THE PENSION FUND BOARD

Date: Thursday 5th June 2014

Time: 9.30 a.m. – 9.40 a.m.

Place: Kreis Viersen Room, Shire Hall, Cambridge

Board Members

Present: Councillors P Ashcroft, S Count (Chairman), R Hickford (Vice Chairman), M

Leeke, J Reynolds, D Seaton, A Walsh and J Walker (representing

UNISON retired members)

Officers: S Dainty,T Osekita, R Perry and P Tysoe

Officer advisors: A Elliott, L Grinnell (East Cambridgeshire District Council Section 151

Officer) and P Potter

Observers: Councillor Shellens

Board Member Apologies: M Pink (UNISON active members)

Officer apologies: None

82. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN

Having been duly moved and seconded, it was unanimously resolved to appoint Councillor Count as the Chairman of the Pension Fund Board.

Having been duly moved and seconded, it was unanimously resolved to appoint Councillor Hickford as the Vice Chairman of the Pension Fund Board.

83. WELCOME AND DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

John Walker declared a personal interest as a retired member of the Local Government Pension Scheme (LGPS) and also as two family members (his son and daughter in law) were deferred members of the Scheme

Councillor David Seaton declared a personal interest as his father was a member of the Pension Scheme.

84. MINUTES OF THE PENSION FUND BOARD MEETING HELD ON 8TH APRIL 2014

The minutes of the Pension Fund Board meeting held on 8th April 2014 were approved as a correct record and were signed by the Chairman.

85. APPOINTMENT OF PENSION FUND INVESTMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (ISC)

Having noted that as set out in the County Council Constitution the Chairman and the Vice Chairman of the Board (Councillors Count and Hickford) automatically became the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the ISC, the following appointments were agreed as set out below from those relevant to take part in the approval process.

Cambridgeshire County Council (CCC) Members – four

The following four Councillors listed below had been proposed by Full Council taking into account political proportionality but required the approval by the Board.

Automatically appointed as a result of their appointment as Chairman and Vice-Chairman:

Chairman Councillor Steve Count (Conservative)
Vice Chairman: Councillor Roger Hickford (Conservative)

It was resolved to confirm the following two County Councillors as the other two appointments to the Pension Fund Board Investment Sub-Committee

Councillor Peter Ashcroft (UKIP)
Councillor Maurice Leeke (Liberal Democrat)

All other employers – two

Two places were required to be drawn from the two Board member places representing 'all other local authorities, police and fire' and the one Board member place representing 'all other employers'.

As there were already two vacancies and Councillor Seaton was still currently the Peterborough City Council appointment representing one of the 'all other local authorities, police and fire' places until their Annual Council meeting later in June, the Board resolved to endorse his re-appointment on the basis of the need for continuity and the depth of knowledge that he brought to the meetings. Councillor Seaton's continued membership of both the Board and ISC after the today's two meetings, being subject to his reappointment by the City Council.

Councillor David Seaton

Scheme member representative – one

(This appointment was required to be drawn from either the one Board member representing Active Scheme Members or the one Board member representing deferred and pensioner scheme members).

It was resolved:

To confirm that John Walker continue initially until December 2014, at which time there was likely to be a review of appointments following the new Pensions legislation requirements.

86. DATE OF NEXT MEETING 9.30 A.M. 26TH JUNE

87. DATE OF FUTURE MEETINGS

9.30 a.m. 24th July

9.30 a.m. 11th September

9.30 a.m. 23rd October

9.30 a.m. 18th December

9.30 a.m. 19th March 2015