CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE COMMITTEE



Tuesday, 3rd June 2014

2.00 p.m.

Kreis Viersen Room Shire Hall CAMBRIDGE Democratic and Members' Services
Quentin Baker
LGSS Director: Law, Property
and Governance
Shire Hall
Castle Hill
Cambridge
CB3 0AP

AGENDA

CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS

1. Notification of Chairwoman and Vice-Chairman (oral)

The Council has appointed Councillor Whitehead as the Chairwoman and Councillor D Brown as the Vice-Chairman for the municipal year 2014-15.

2. Co-option of Diocesan Representatives (oral)

The Committee is asked to co-opt the following representatives, who shall be co-opted as non-elected members with voting rights on those matters relating to the Council's education functions. They may speak but not vote on other matters.

- One Church of England diocesan representative to be confirmed
- One Roman Catholic diocesan representative Mr Paul Rossi, Deputy Director of Schools Service, Diocese of East Anglia
- 3. Apologies for Absence and Declarations of Interest (oral)

Guidance for Councillors on declaring interests is available at http://tinyurl.com/ccc-decoint

4. Petitions (oral)

KEY DECISIONS

5. Review of the Council's Residential Children's Homes (white)

OTHER DECISIONS

- 6. Children's Services Improvement Plan and Inspection Preparation (green)
- 7. Early Help Strategy, Review and Recommissioning (white)
- 8. Childcare Sufficiency Assessment (green)

9. Commissioning of Alternative Education (white) 10. Peer Review of School Improvement (green) 11. Finance and Performance Report – March 2014 (white) 12. Business Plan Budget for 2014/15 (green) 13. Appointments to Internal Advisory Groups and Panels and (white) Partnership Liaison and Advisory Groups 14. Children and Young People Committee Agenda Plan (green)

The Committee comprises the following members:

County Councillors – D Brown (Vice-Chairman), P Brown, S Bywater, P Clapp, D Divine, P Downes, D Harty, G Kenney, M Leeke, M Loynes, L Nethsingha, F Onasanya, M Rouse, S van de Kerkhove, J Whitehead (Chairwoman), J Wisson, F Yeulett

Substitute members: P Ashcroft, K Bourke, P Bullen, A Dent, D Giles, G Gillick, J Hipkin, N Kavanagh, I Manning, M Mason, T Orgee, J Palmer, P Reeve, M Smith, A Taylor, S van de Ven

Co-opted members – to be confirmed at this meeting

The County Council is committed to open government and members of the public are welcome to attend meetings of this Committee. It supports the principle of transparency and encourages filming, recording and taking photographs at meetings that are open to the public. It also welcomes the use of social networking and micro-blogging websites (such as Twitter and Facebook) to communicate with people about what is happening, as it happens. These arrangements operate in accordance with a protocol agreed by the Chairman of the Council and political Group Leaders which can be accessed via the following link or made available on request: http://tinyurl.com/ccc-filming

For more information about this meeting, including access arrangements and facilities for people with disabilities, please contact Gwyneth Barton at the County Council's Democratic Services on Cambridge (01223) 699179 or by email at gwyneth.Barton@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

The Council does not guarantee the provision of **car parking** on the Shire Hall site and you will need to use nearby public car parks. Details of location and other transport options are available at http://tinyurl.com/ccc-carpark