## **COUNTY COUNCIL (EXTRAORDINARY MEETING): MINUTES**

**Date:** Friday 23<sup>rd</sup> November 2007

**Time:** 10.00 – 10.25a.m.

Place: Shire Hall, Cambridge

**Present:** Councillor A G Orgee (Chairman)

Councillors D Baldwin, C M Ballard, I C Bates, J Broadway, P Brown, T Butcher, S Criswell, J Dutton, R Farrer, S A Giles, G F Harper, N Harrison, D Harty, W G M Hensley, J D Jenkins, S F Johnstone, E Kadiĉ, G Kenney, A C Kent, V H Lucas, D McCraith, L W McGuire, S B Normington, M K Ogden, L J

Oliver, D R Pegram, J A Powley, P Read, A A Reid,

J E Reynolds, K Reynolds, P Sales, M Shuter, L Sims, M Smith, T Stone, J M Tuck, J West, H Williams, M Williamson and

F H Yeulett.

**Apologies:** Councillors J Batchelor, B Boddington, C Carter, A Douglas,

P Downes, E Hughes, W Hunt, C Hyams, S Kindersley, S J King

and J K Walters.

## 189. ELECTION OF LEADER OF COUNCIL

Councillor S F Johnstone made a personal statement regarding her decision to stand down as Leader of Council with effect from 12<sup>th</sup> November 2007. Councillor Johnstone indicated that she had always acted in the best interests of the Council but accepted that her intervention in the process for the appointment of a new Chief Executive had been an error of judgement for which she apologised unreservedly to the Council. She expressed her thanks to the officers for her support whilst she was Leader and her full support to the new Leader of Council.

It was moved by Councillor R Pegram and seconded by Councillor J E Reynolds:

"That Councillor J K Walters be elected as Leader of Council for the period until the next annual meeting of Council."

Councillor Pegram advised that Councillor Walters was unable to be present at the meeting because he was engaged in business elsewhere but that Councillor Walters would be pleased to undertake the role of Leader of Council.

The Council debated the appointment. A vote was then taken and it was resolved:

"That Councillor J K Walters be elected as Leader of Council for the period until the next annual meeting of Council."

[Voting pattern; Conservatives in favour, Liberal Democrat against, Labour members in favour and abstained].

Chairman