## MINUTES OF THE PENSION COMMITTEE

Date: Thursday 24<sup>th</sup> May 2016

Time: 10:05–10:15

Place: Kreis Viersen Room, Shire Hall, Cambridge

Committee Members

present: Councillors P Ashcroft, S Count (Chairman), R Hickford (Vice Chairman), N

Kavanagh, K Reynolds (substituting for Cllr Wisson) and M Shellens (substituting

for Cllr Leeke); J Walker (UNISON,representing deferred and retired LGPS

members)

Officers: D Cave, S Heywood, P Tysoe and R Perry

Apologies: Councillors A Fraser, M Leeke, D Seaton and J Wisson; G Deeble

## 58. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN

Having been duly moved and seconded, it was unanimously resolved to appoint Councillor Hickford as the Chairman of the Pension Committee.

Having been duly moved and seconded, it was unanimously resolved to appoint Councillor Leeke as the Vice Chairman of the Pension Committee.

#### 59. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

John Walker declared a personal interest as a retired member of the LGPS and that his son and daughter-in-law were deferred members.

# 60. MINUTES OF THE PENSION FUND BOARD MEETING HELD ON 24th MARCH 2016

The minutes of the Pension Fund Board meeting held on 24<sup>h</sup> March 2016 were approved as a correct record and were signed by the Chairman.

## 61. APPOINTMENT OF PENSION FUND INVESTMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (ISC)

Having noted that as set out in the County Council Constitution the Chairman and the Vice Chairman of the Committee (Councillors Hickford and Leeke) automatically became the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Investment Sub-Committee, the following

appointments were agreed as set out below from those relevant to take part in the approval process.

# Cambridgeshire County Council (CCC) Members – four

The following four Councillors listed below had been proposed by Full Council taking into account political proportionality but required the approval by the Committee.

Automatically appointed as a result of their appointment as Chairman and Vice-Chairman:

Chairman Councillor Roger Hickford (Conservative)
Vice Chairman: Councillor Maurice Leeke (Liberal Democrat)

It was resolved to confirm the following two County Councillors as the other two appointments to the Pension Fund Investment Sub-Committee

Councillor Peter Ashcroft (UKIP)
Councillor Steve Count (Conservative)

# All other employers - two

Two places were required to be drawn from the two Committee member places representing 'all other local authorities, police and fire' and the one Committee member place representing 'all other employers'.

Confirmation was awaited from Peterborough City Council that Councillor Seaton was still their appointee representing one of the 'all other local authorities, police and fire' places. The other appointee in this category was Gareth Deeble.

The Committee resolved to endorse these appointments:

- Councillor David Seaton
- Gareth Deeble

## Scheme member representative - one

This appointment was required to be drawn from either the one Committee member representing Active Scheme Members or the one Committee member representing deferred and pensioner scheme members. Unison (both Branch and Regional Office) had confirmed Mr Walker's reappointment.

It was resolved to endorse this appointment:

- John Walker
- 62. DATE OF NEXT MEETING 10am 7<sup>th</sup> July
- **63. DATE OF FUTURE MEETINGS**

10am 28<sup>th</sup> July 10am 20<sup>th</sup>October 10am 8<sup>th</sup> December 10am 23<sup>rd</sup>March 20157