Record of Standards and Governance Training

To: Constitution and Ethics Committee

Meeting Date: 29 September 2021

From: Democratic Services Manager

Purpose: The Constitution and Ethics is being asked to review the Standards

and Governance training undertaken on 14th May 2021, to ensure that

Members have participated in the training.

Recommendation: The Committee is asked to:

Note the training record.

Officer contact:

Name: Michelle Rowe

Post: Democratic Services Manager

Email: michelle.rowe@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Tel: 01223 699180

Member contacts:

Names: Councillor Sebastian Kindersley

Post: Chair

Email: skindersley@hotmail.com

Tel: 01223 706398

1. Background

- 1.1 The Council has a duty pursuant to section 27 of the Localism Act 2011 to promote and maintain high standards of conduct by its Members. To promote such standards, the Council arranged Code of Conduct training, which was delivered by a representative of Weightmans Solicitors on 14th May 2021.
- 1.2 The session was recorded and made available to Members who were unable to attend the training session. Members were also invited to attend Question and Answer sessions with the Monitoring Officer.
- 1.3 The recording of the training remains available to all Members.

2. Main Issues

2.1 The 52 Councillors (from a total of 61 Councillors) who undertook the Standards and Governance training, either by attending the session or watching the recording, are listed below:

Councillor David Ambrose Smith

Councillor Michael Atkins

Councillor Henry Batchelor

Councillor Alex Beckett

Councillor Ken Billington

Councillor Gerri Bird

Councillor Anna Bradnam

Councillor Alex Bulat

Councillor Simon Bywater

Councillor Hilary Cox Condron

Councillor Adela Costello

Councillor Steve Count

Councillor Piers Coutts

Councillor Steve Criswell

Councillor Douglas Dew

Councillor Lorna Dupre

Councillor Stephen Ferguson

Councillor Ryan Fuller

Councillor Ian Gardener

Councillor Derek Giles

Councillor Mark Goldsack

Councillor Bryony Goodliffe

Councillor Neil Gough

Councillor John Gowing

Councillor Ros Hathorn

Councillor Anne Hay

Councillor Mark Howell

Councillor Richard Howitt

Councillor Samantha Hoy

Councillor Sebastian Kindersley

Councillor Jonas King

Councillor Maria King

Councillor Simon King

Councillor Peter McDonald

Councillor Elisa Meschini

Councillor Brian Milnes

Councillor Edna Murphy

Councillor Lucy Nethsingha

Councillor Keith Prentice

Councillor Catherine Rae

Councillor Kevin Reynolds

Councillor Tom Sanderson

Councillor Dan Schumann

Councillor Joshua Schumann

Councillor Neil Shailer

Councillor Alan Sharp

Councillor Philippa Slatter

Councillor Simone Taylor

Councillor Firouz Thompson

Councillor Susan van de Ven

Councillor Alison Whelan

Councillor Graham Wilson

2.2 Councillors who last attended training in 2017 are listed below:

Councillor Mandy Smith

3. Source documents

3.1 None