Review of Proportionality and Membership of Schools Forum

To: Cambridgeshire Schools Forum

Meeting Date: 15 July 2022

From: Tamar Oviatt-Ham – Democratic Services Officer

Purpose:

• To review proportionality on the Forum in relation to the latest data from the January 2022 census data.

 To assess whether any further changes are required regarding Forum seats allocated between the maintained and academies sector.

• To review the current vacancies and appointments identified for reelection and actions required.

Recommendation: Schools Forum is recommended to:

a) Note and comment on the report.

Name: Tamar Oviatt-Ham

Post: Democratic Services Officer

Email: tamar.oviatt-ham@cambridgeshire.gov.uk

Tel: 01223 715668

1. Background

- 1.1 National regulations govern the composition, constitution and procedures for schools forums and are set out in The Schools Forum Regulations (2012) (as amended). The Department for Education (DfE) also publishes and periodically updates the Schools Forum Operational and Good Practice Guide together with guidance on Schools Forums' structure, powers and responsibilities.
- 1.2. Schools Forums are made up of school members (maintained schools), academies members and non-school members (Post 16 providers and Independent or Voluntary Sector Early Years providers). Schools and academies members must together comprise at least two thirds of the membership of the Forum.
- 1.3 The Regulations state that '...primary schools, secondary schools (that is, maintained schools) and Academies must be broadly proportionately represented on the forum, having regard to the total number of pupils registered at them.' However, the Operational and Good Practice Guide also states that 'The Schools Forum Regulations provide a framework for the appointment of members, but allow a considerable degree of discretion in order to accommodate local priorities and practice.'
- 1.4 Whilst Schools Forum good practice guidance suggests a review is undertaken at every meeting, this is not practicable on what are four year appointments. Forum agreed at the July 2018 meeting that it should receive a report once a year reviewing the proportionality of Forum membership. This would be based on the most up to date pupil numbers provided by the Annual Census, and that if there were any significant changes to the pupil numbers split, to then consider if any further changes should be made to the allocation of seats.

2. Proportionality Review 2022

2.1 The figures for 2020, 2021 and the current figures for 2022 can be found below:

```
2021 figures with 2020 % in brackets
Total pupils across primary and secondary (maintained) = 28,175 / 34.4% (35%)
Total pupils across primary and secondary (academies) = 53,762 / 65.6% (65%)
```

- Current figures as at January 2022 census are:
 Total pupils across primary and secondary (maintained) = 27,635 / 33.34%
 Total pupils across primary and secondary (academies) = 55,247 / 66.66%
- 2.3 Based on the current figures it is recommended that no further changes to proportionality are required at this present time.

3. Forum Appointments for Review

3.2 There are a number of appointments up for re-election as terms of office are coming to an end:

Maintained Appointments x 1

• 1 Maintained School Governor - Paul Stratford - Chair of Governors, Alderman Payne Primary School (Vice-Chairman)

Academy Appointments x 3

- Jon Culpin Chief Executive Officer of Anglian Learning (Chairman)
- Richard Spencer Principal, Ely College
- Patsy Peres Principal, Ramsey Spinning Infant and Ramsey Junior
- 3.3 There is also one retirement in relation to the **Maintained Appointments**:
 - Primary Head Teacher Liz Bassett Headteacher, Ely St Johns Primary School
- 3.3 The full list of current voting and non- voting representatives can be found at appendix 1
- 3.4 Elections to fill the vacancy and appointments up for review will take place ahead of the November Schools Forum.

Appendix 1 - Current Schools Forum make up (Changes required highlighted in yellow)

Voting Members:

7 Maintained Representatives

3 Maintained Primary Headteachers

- Sasha Howard Headteacher, Meldreth Primary School
- Liz Bassett Headteacher, Ely St Johns Primary School (Due to Retire)
- Guy Underwood Headteacher, Great Abington Primary

1 Maintained Special School Representative

Joanne Hardwick – Headteacher, Samuel Pepys Maintained Special School, St Neots

1 Maintained Nursery School Representative

• Alex Pearson - Headteacher Homerton Early Years Centre

1 Pupil Referral Unit Representative

Leah Miller - Headteacher, Pilgrim Pathways School

1 Maintained School Governor

Paul Stratford – Chair of Governors, Alderman Payne Primary School (Vice-Chairman)
 (End of 4 year term)

13 Academies Representatives:

1 Academy Primary Representative

 Susannah Connell - Headteacher, Middlefield Academy and CEO Diamond Learning Partnership Trust

1 Academy Special School Representative

• Simon Bainbridge - Executive Headteacher, Highfield Ely Academy

1 Academy Alternative Provision

Mark Vickers - CEO Olive Academies

General Academy Appointments

- Jon Culpin Chief Executive Officer of Anglian Learning (Chairman) (End of 4 year term)
- Richard Spencer Principal, Ely College (End of 4 year term)
- Patsy Peres Principal, Ramsey Spinning Infant and Ramsey Junior (End of 4 year term)
- Adrian Ball Chief Executive Officer, Diocese of Ely
- Christopher Bennett Headteacher, St Peter's School, Huntingdon
- John King Sir Harry Smith Community College
- Ryan Kelsall Impington Village College
- Duncan Ramsey CEO Aspire Learning Trust
- Lesley Birch Executive Principal Cambridge Primary Education Trust
- Carin Taylor Executive Headteacher Staploe Education Trust

Non-Voting Representatives

1 Representative of the Early Years Reference Group

• Deborah Parfitt – Nursery Manager, Nene Infants and Nursery School

1 Representative of Post 16 FE

• Jeremy Lloyd - Director of Supported Learning, Cambridge Regional College

Observers

1 Representative Diocese of Ely Board of Education

Canon Andrew Read

1 Representative Roman Catholic Diocese of East Anglia

• Joe Mc Crossan - Head of St Albans School Cambridge

1 Teacher Union Membership Representative

Jon Duveen

NonTeacher Union Membership Representative, non-teaching JCNG

Rob Turner

Cambridgeshire County Council – three appointments made annually by Children and Young People Committee:

- Councillor Bryony Goodliffe
- Councillor Claire Daunton
- Councillor Simone Taylor