## Members' Allowances

The following motion was carried at full Council on 11 December 2018:

## **Motion from Councillor Steve Count**

In 2014 the County Council negotiated with its recognised trade unions, a collective agreement which inserted in all employees' contracts a provision to require employees to take up to three days' mandatory unpaid leave if the County Council faced significant financial difficulties.

Across the country, many councils are facing a difficult financial situation and the County Council is no different. In this financial year (2018/19), the County Council was projecting a £14.6m overspend if no action was taken due mainly to the increased demand for its services.

With the hard work and commitment of the Senior Management Team (SMT) and our employees, that overspend was reduced to around £8m without resorting to cutting services or making staff redundant.

In these circumstances SMT considered that the terms of the collective agreement were triggered as the County Council was facing significant financial difficulties. Senior managers from SMT met with the trade unions and set out those financial difficulties and told the trade unions that the mandatory unpaid leave provisions would be implemented in the financial year (2018/19) so that employees would lose around 1.2% pay whilst gaining three extra days of leave, giving a saving of £900k to the County Council's budget.

SMT sought to reduce the impact of this agreement on employees by:-

- a) negotiating a variation to the collective agreement so that the lowest paid employees, those earning less than £26,000, were not included in the agreement;
- b) spreading the deductions in the salaries of employees over a twelve month period starting in November 2018;
- c) allowing employees, who were required to work to maintain essential services, to take their unpaid leave over a twelve month period.

## This Council agrees

- To note the decision of the Senior Management Team and its discussions with the trade unions as set out above;
- That the decision was fair and is supported by us as Councillors, made necessary under the present financial circumstances;

- That we as Councillors should not be exempted from the personal financial implications;
- That we as Councillors agree to 1.2% reduction in our allowances, spread over a twelve month period;
- That this motion is intended to apply to all sixty-one Councillors, not just the nine who have allowances in excess of £25,000;
- That the voting be recorded and that a vote for this motion is a voluntary request to Democratic Services to reduce the allowance as outlined. A vote against or abstention to be assumed to be no voluntary reduction. That any Councillors wishing their vote to be treated differently and for those not present should notify Democratic Services within one week of this meeting if they wish to take a 1.2% reduction in their allowance. For the sake of transparency, Democratic Services will publish on our website those Councillors who have agreed to a voluntary reduction in their allowances;
- That the Leader of the Council writes to inform all employees of the decision made by Councillors as a result of this Motion and thanks employees for their continued hard work and commitment for the residents of Cambridgeshire.

61 Councillors have agreed to a reduction in their allowances.

The following Councillors will have a 1.2% reduction in their allowances starting in February 2019 spread out over a twelve month period.

r cordary 2013 spread out over a twelve month period.	
Donald Adey	David Ambrose Smith
Anna Bailey	Ian Bates
Chris Boden	Simon Bywater
David Connor	Adela Costello
Steve Count	Steve Criswell
Kevin Cuffley	Lis Every
Janet French	Ryan Fuller
lan Gardener	Mark Goldsack
John Gowing	Lynda Harford
Anne Hay	Roger Hickford
Mark Howell	Samantha Hoy
Peter Hudson	Bill Hunt
Lina Joseph	Mac McGuire
Kevin Reynolds	Terry Rogers
Tom Sanderson	Josh Schumann
Mathew Shuter	Mandy Smith
Simone Taylor	Steve Tierney
Peter Topping	David Wells
Julie Wisson	Tim Wotherspoon

The following Councillors have given a 1.2% reduction in their allowances to Unison (for some Councillors this may be spread over a twelve month period):

(10) comic comicination and may be optional extended internal portion.	
Henry Batchelor	Anna Bradnam
Sandra Crawford	Peter Downes
Lorna Dupre	Nichola Harrison
David Jenkins	Linda Jones
Noel Kavanagh	Sebastian Kindersley
lan Manning	Elisa Meschini
Lucy Nethsingha	Claire Richards
Michael Shellens	Amanda Taylor
Susan van de Ven	Joan Whitehead
John Williams	Graham Wilson

The following Councillors have made their own arrangements regarding the sum set out below:

Derek Giles	Donated £250 from his allowance to
	St Mary's Church, Eaton Socon
Simon King	Donated £180 from his allowance to his
	Parish Councils
Jocelynne Scutt	Donated £350 from her allowance to
	Unison